Reviews of Starting Point: 1979–1996 (1996/2009) and related work

Starting Point: 1979–1996 (1996/2009Text)

Miyazaki Hayao (writer).

Read in the 2009 English-language edition.

Collected writings of, interviews with and a few comic trifles by Miyazaki Hayao. Aside from a foreword, afterword, biography and editorial footnotes, the collection contains:

In the book, this is all arranged primarily by topic rather than chronology.

References here: “I Want a Garden Like This” (1986), “Dining in Midair” (1994), The Art of Princess Mononoke (1997).

text non-fiction Ghibli Japanese production

Turning Point: 1997–2008 (2008/2014Text)

Miyazaki (writer).

Read in 2021.

Read in the 2014 English-language edition.

More of the same for another decade: The era of Miyazaki’s blockbuster hits and breakthrough international cult status. Entries include:

I have arbitrarily omitted from the list those entries in the book that have less than three paragraphs of text, as well as the afterword, biography and editorial footnotes. The lesser entries have some scholarly interest, but are not fun, and not reviewed on this site as a matter of editorial policy.

Surprisingly, despite including epitaphs for others, there are no “words of farewell” for Kondō Yoshifumi, the brilliant director of Whisper of the Heart (1995) who died in 1998 and was set to succeed Miyazaki.

text sequel non-fiction Japanese production